Thursday, April 18, 2024
    HomeFamily#2013alive: Kick Off February by Letting Your Loved Ones Know You Care

    #2013alive: Kick Off February by Letting Your Loved Ones Know You Care

    #2013alive: Kick Off February by Letting Your Loved Ones Know You Care

    It’s month 2, week 1 of our 12 Months of Wellness! This week we focus on letting our loved ones know we care.

    It’s month 2, week 1 of our 12 Months of Wellness, and this month we focus on creating healthy family ties. Our first order of business is to let our loved ones know we care about them, which should be easy since February is the month of love!

    Do you show your love?
    According to a 2005 US online survey, 45 percent of spouses say “I love you” occasionally, whereas 62 percent of romantic lovers say it frequently. Keep in mind, however, that there are other ways to show your love, such as spending quality time with each other, giving thoughtful gifts, doing something for one another, and being physically affectionate.

    This week, ask yourself how you show your love, and then consider how those around you show and receive love. If you can figure out their “love language,” expressing your love in meaningful ways to them will be much easier.

    Here’s a breakdown of the five love languages:

    Words of affirmation: people who communicate with this love language are verbal people. They like to hear that dinner tasted great or that they look great in their new clothes. These words of affirmation are important to their self-esteem and build confidence.

    Quality time: people who hold quality time as paramount appreciate having their loved one’s undivided attention. This person might appreciate a thoughtful night out or a simple walk outside. Even switching off the television and having a conversation without outside distractions would be an opportunity to show this person you care.

    Gifts: people who communicate with gifts are not selfish people; they simply feel that a thoughtful gift is a sign of love. The act of picking a gift for someone is very personal, and when these people receive a thoughtful gift picked just for them it makes them feel special and loved. The gift need not be big or expensive; it just has to say, “Hey, I was thinking about you.”

    Acts of service: people who communicate via acts of service see action as a sign of love. Whether that means taking your partner’s car in for servicing, painting the bathroom while a loved one is away on vacation, or even getting the door for a date, these acts of service show thoughtfulness to the receiver.

    Physical touch: people who show their love with physical touch often love to hug, kiss, hold hands, and display other forms of physical affection. Of course, each individual has her own comfort level when it comes to physical touch and especially public displays of affection (PDA), but often a simple kiss on the cheek, hand squeeze, or arm around the shoulder is enough to show you care.

    Do you see yourself in any of these categories? How about your loved ones? This week, find ways to show your loved ones you care; but this time do it using their love language, not yours.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here


    Popular posts

    My favorites

    I'm social